Check Live Camera
August 24, 2016, 11:54 am Advertisments


Crescent Rock Beach Sunset

Where You Can Vacation & Be Home The Same Day




Night Owl

He has been compared to Steve Ray Vaughan.

This weekend JACK SEMPLE rocks Blue Frog Studio.

(check out all the music around the Semiahmoo Peninsula this week - click here)




Local News

Work is proceeding on schedule at the new location of Penguin Meats in uptown White Rock in the old Peace Arch News/Walk In Clinic location.

. The proposed opening date will be Tuesday September 06 following the Labour Day weekend


The Other Hilary

White Rocker Brings Home The Metal/Medal

White Rock's Hilary Caldwell

Twelve athletes from British Columbia are bringing home eight medals from the Rio 2016 Olympic Summer Games, including team medals in sports such as swimming, soccer, cycling, rugby and rowing.

A total of 142 athletes with a connection to B.C. competed at the Games in 18 different sports. Of those, provincially-affiliated athletes earned 50% of the Canadian Olympic Team’s total medal count: one gold, one silver and nine bronze medals.

Athletes from British Columbia who earned medals at the Games include (in chronological order of achievement):

Taylor Ruck, Kelowna – swimming – bronze x2

Kayla Moleschi, Williams Lake – rugby – bronze

Emily Overholt, Vancouver – swimming – bronze

Lindsay Jennerich, Victoria – rowing – silver

Patricia Obee, Victoria – rowing – silver

Hilary Caldwell, White Rock – swimming – bronze (200 metre backstroke)

Laura Brown, Vancouver – cycling, track – bronze

Jasmin Glaesser, Vancouver – cycling, track – bronze

Georgia Simmerling, West Vancouver – cycling, track – bronze

Sophie Schmidt, Abbotsford – women's football (soccer) – bronze

Christine Sinclair, Burnaby – women's football (soccer) – bronze

Catharine Pendrel, Kamloops – women’s mountain bike – bronze

In total, Canada won 22 medals:

4 Gold

3 Silver

15 Bronze

Quick Facts:

314 athletes make up the Canadian Olympic Team.

142 of these athletes have a B.C. connection.

68 of them have their hometown in British Columbia.


Artist Call - Newport Public Plaza

The City of White Rock invites professional artists or artist teams to submit an application for a site-specific public art project at a new public plaza at Marine Drive and Oxford Street, White Rock.
Request for Proposals Closes: September 20, 2016

Download the Call for Artists


White Rock Al Fresco

WESTCOAST FOOD writer recently paid a visit to our "City By The Sea." Read what she like about her visit.

When the temperatures are warm, that’s your cue to take your dining experience outdoors. And what better place to dine al fresco than White Rock? Bordering the Semiahmoo Bay, White Rock is a stunning seaside city with a sandy beach that stretches eight kilometres across the city. From the oceanfront promenade to the grassy open spaces, there are plenty of places on White Rock beach to enjoy a bite to eat and the fresh, open air.

(click here)


Tour De White Rock 2011 Winner Medals In Rio

Jasmin Glaesser

Canada won its first cycling medal of the Rio Olympics on Saturday, with a bronze medal in the Women’s Team Pursuit. The team of Allison Beveridge, Jasmin Glaesser, Kirsti Lay and Georgia Simmerling beat New Zealand with a time of four minutes and 14.627 seconds for 4000 metres, which is a new Canadian record. Great Britain won the gold ahead of the United States in a world record time.

The Canadian team faced the defending Olympic champions, Great Britain, in the semi-final round in the morning session and lost when the British team set a new world record. However, the Canadians set the third fastest time of the session at four minutes and 15.636 seconds, to qualify for the bronze medal race.

In the medal final, Canada took control of the race from the start and were over six-tenths of a second ahead after the first 1000 metres. By the mid-point of the race the lead was above one second, and at the end the Canadian squad finished nearly four seconds in front of their opponents. The fifth member of the team, Laura Brown, rode in the qualifying round and also received the bronze medal.

Jasmin Glaesser, the only returning member of the bronze medal-winning team from the London Olympics, said “It was a great ride. Four years ago, it was a little bit of a surprise, but this time around [a medal] was our goal and focus, and this is the result of four years of hard work. To put it together on the day, when it matters, is an incredible feeling.


Stop That Grinnin' and Drop That Linen

Patrons of the South Surrey nude beach at Crescent Rock have grown tired of " lookie loos " who claimed they did not know they were walking into a clothing optional beach - that is until now.

Over the weekend a giant boulder was painted to inform one and all of the impending nudity ahead. The rock is located at the bottom of 1001 Steps in Ocean Park/




Two Sticks of TNT

Naturally Yours - Don Pitcairn





History Lesson

The Legend of the White Rock

Standing more than four metres high and weighing a reported 486 tonnes, the famous white rock is actually a large granite boulder.
How did it get here? According to a Semiahmoo First Nations legend, a young sea god hurled it into the sea when he fell in love with a Cowichan princess but was forbidden to marry her. He declared they would make their new home, and start their own tribe, wherever the boulder landed.



As Canada marches forward with legislation to govern medical marijuana and recreational marijuana, south of us four more states in America this year will vote on whether or not to legalize marijuana.

(read more)


Coming Events

All of the events are free of charge, open to the public, and will take place at South Surrey Arena. Please come out and watch!

(click here for more upcoming community events)


Joke Of The Day

The Man and the Dog

There is an old story about the data center of the future.

This data center runs 24/7 with only a man and a dog.

The man's job is to feed the dog.

The dog's job is to make sure the man does not touch the computer.


Video Of The Day

Cycling goes high tech!



Thought For The Day


Tomorrow In THE SUN



Check today's tide tables ( click here )




It's Only News If You Read It Today

fish head



Platinum Success Since 1987
see our new studio at

Canada's First Internet Newspaper